Saturday, January 28, 2023
Home EFL Cup


What is EFL Cup?

The EFL Cup is the English Football League’s major cup competition.

Beginning in August, it features all clubs from the Premier League and EFL in a straight knock-out system across seven rounds, with the semi-finals being taken part over two legs.

Premier League outfits enter the competition in Round Two with teams that have qualified for the UEFA Champions League or EFA Europa League joining in Round Three.

The competition peaks in a final at Wembley Stadium, with the winner qualifying for the following season’s Europa League.

Since its inception in the 1960/61 season, the competition has garnered itself a status for thrilling floodlit cup football with many remarkable moments and shock results.

In more recent years, it has earned a reputation for being the competition in which the young footballers of the future make their bow in professional football.

This includes then-Arsenal star Cesc Fabregas who made his professional debut in the competition versus Rotherham United to become the Gunners’ youngest ever player.

Likewise, future England stars David Beckham, Jermaine Defoe and John Terry all made their first professional appearances in the EFL Cup (Carabao Cup).

Wayne Rooney began his scoring career in it, too, bagging his very first goal in professional football for Everton versus Wrexham in October 2002.

His international team-mate, Theo Walcott, also marked his debut goal for the Emirates Stadium outfit in the 2007 Final against Chelsea.

The joint-most successful teams in the history of the Carabao Cup are Manchester City and Liverpool who have won the competition eight times, having won the competition for a fourth successive campaign in April 2021.

Who are the traditional favourites?

As mentioned above, the Citizens have won the EFL Cup for a fourth straight year and consequently became traditional favourites.

However, Liverpool, who are now joint-record winners of the Leagues Cup, should not be forgotten either, as Jurgen Klopp’s men can put up a great deal of resistance for Pep Guardiola’s team.

EFL Cup – 2021/22 season (odds)

Manchester City 4/1, Chelsea 7/1, Liverpool 7/1, Manchester United 8/1.

Bookies have been tipping Manchester City to lift the trophy once again and become the sole leaders in the list of winners.

The Etihad Stadium side can really do that, given the presence of high-class players in the team, as well as the excellent manager and winning mentality.

Popular articles

Ronnie Dog Media Comm. V.
Emiel Hertecantlaan 19a 9290 Berlare - Belgium // BTW
(VAT) BE 0693988181

Contact us: [email protected]

© Copyright 2021 - Ronnie Dog Media All Rights Reserved.