Wednesday, May 31, 2023
Home FA Cup

FA Cup

What is FA Cup?

The FA Cup is an English club football’s once-a-year competition, and it is the oldest one that still exists, both in terms of the cup and league formats. It all began in the 1871/72 term, and the latest competition saw Leicester City overcome Chelsea at Wembley.

Way back in 1872, it was Wanderers F.C that laid claim to being the first champion of the FA Cup. The team went on to win four more before it was terminated in 1883. A short but successful early stint in The Beautiful Game.

Many of the clubs on those early trophies are no longer well known, but back in 1884, Blackburn Rovers clinched the title, the first of six between then and 1926.

That side took more recent global headlines after reaching the top of the English game in the 1994/95 season under the leadership of Kenny Dalglish.

However, the team did lift other league trophies in 1911/12 and 1913/14, long before the Premier League arrived. Aston Villa were the first of those outfits currently in the top tier to win the FA Cup back in 1887.

From Wanderers in 1872 to the Foxes in 2021, in total, there have been 44 different champions, Leicester City, the latest to add their name to the FA cup’s history. It may have taken the club five attempts, but at last, they have done it.

Who are traditional favourites?

The London giants Arsenal increased their dominance on the trophy in 2020 as they overcame city rivals Chelsea to win their 14th FA Cup. The Gunners’ first was in 1930.

Next on the list of champions are Manchester United, two behind, and then Tottenham Hotspur and Chelsea with eight. Equal on seven title wins are the Villa and Liverpool.

Arsenal also lead the way, as may be expected, on the number of The Football Association Challenge Cup finals having appeared in 21.

The Red Devils have been in 19 showpiece finals while the Reds are next with 14. The Old Trafford outfit were the first outfit to win 10 of the famous old cups.

FA Cup – 2021/22 season (odds)

While Arsenal look really great in this competition, bookmakers have named Manchester City champions next season, which is not really surprising given the club’s results in recent years.

Manchester City 4/1, Manchester United 7/1, Chelsea 7/1, Liverpool 7/1.

No posts to display

Popular articles

Ronnie Dog Media Comm. V.
Emiel Hertecantlaan 19a 9290 Berlare - Belgium // BTW
(VAT) BE 0693988181

Contact us: [email protected]

© Copyright 2023 - Ronnie Dog Media All Rights Reserved.